Becoming Certified

ACHA provides board certification to architects who specialize in health care within the United States and in countries where NCARB reciprocal licensure can be obtained. The certification process is rigorous and overseen by an independent testing agency, in order to establish a professionally sound, legally defensible standard by which people can identify themselves as healthcare architects.

ACHA is excited to announce that, starting in 2023, any ACHA applicant who passes the certification exam can receive 20 AIA approved HSW CEUs for the testing year. This will satisfy a substantial portion of CEUs required for architectural licensure in most states. You will be well on your way to ACHA certification with the added benefit of reduced cost for achieving your educational requirements!

  • See below for the Certification Pathways.
  • Use the menu items in the blue box to the right to find out more detailed information about the steps to certification.

Certificate Holders

  1. Certificate Holder— Board Certified in the specialty of healthcare architecture and entitled to use the credentials “ACHA” after his or her name.
  2. Fellow— Certificate Holder who has practiced within the specialty in an exemplary fashion for ten years or more is eligible to be nominated for ACHA Fellowship. If elevated, the ACHA Fellow becomes a certificant of the Council of Fellows and is entitled to use the credentials “FACHA” after his or her name.
  3. Emeritus — Certificate Holder who no longer has a full-time practice is eligible to apply for Emeritus status. An Emeritus certificate holder is entitled to use the credentials “ACHA Emeritus” or “FACHA Emeritus” after his or her name.

Certification Process

ACHA utilizes a certification software to manage the certification processes.

About Certemy (Certification System)

Certification Eligibility

Determine your eligibility to sit for the exam by examining the criteria and list of requirements as outlined in the Certification Handbook.

If eligible, review our Helpful Hints to learn our 5 top tips to navigate the application process.

Certification Pathways

Pathway 1:  Candidate Program 

Do you 
not yet meet all the exam eligibility requirements?

No problem! Be a part of the Candidate Program. You must hold a US architectural license or an NCARB recognized reciprocal license. No portfolio or exam application required at this time. You will receive periodic updates on the College, exam prep seminar notifications, exam reminders, and special invitations to ACHA-only events.  Remain a Candidate for up to 5 years (Candidacy must be renewed annually for $25). 

Click here for details on the Candidate Program.

Candidate Application

[Note:  Candidacy does not qualify you as eligible to sit for the exam.  Candidates will ultimately need to submit an application for review before deemed eligible; separate fees apply.]
Pathway 2: Exam Applicant

Do you meet all the exam eligibility requirements?

Review the requirements as outlined in the Certification Handbook.  Submit your application by logging into your account or apply directly by clicking the button below. The application fee is $400: $150 application handling fee
$250 examination fee.

Click here for more information.

Exam Applicant Application

[Note: Applicants who complete this Pathway by April 1 and are approved are eligible to sit for the exam during the next examination window (June 1-30).]

If you have previously sat for the ACHA examination, not passed and you are still in your window of eligibility, please log in to your account to complete the Re-Examination workflow.

Re-Examination deadline: May 1

Contact us, should you need assistance.

*Note: Turn off your pop-up blocker program. Get Adobe Acrobat Reader to view PDFs online.​​​​​​