Contact Us


 Becoming Certified

As mentioned in About Us, ACHA provides board certification to architects who specialize in health care within the United States and in countries where NCARB reciprocal licensure can be obtained. The certification process is rigorous and overseen by an independent testing agency, in order to establish a professionally sound, legally defensible standard by which people can identify themselves as healthcare architects.

There are 3 types of Certificate Holders:

  1. Certificate Holder-- Board Certified in the specialty of healthcare architecture and entitled to use the credentials "ACHA" after his or her name.
  2. Fellow-- Certificate Holder who has practiced within the specialty in an exemplary fashion for ten years or more is eligible to be nominated for ACHA Fellowship. If elevated, the ACHA Fellow becomes a certificant in the Council of Fellows and is entitled to use the credentials "FACHA" after his or her name.
  3. Emeritus -- Certificate Holder who no longer has a full-time practice is eligible to apply for Emeritus status. An Emeritus certificate holder is entitled to use the credentials "ACHA Emeritus" or "FACHA Emeritus" after his or her name.

Certificate Holder Certification Process:

  1. Determine and complete eligibility requirements
  2. Submit Portfolio Package (including all outlined requirements)
  3. Submit Exam Application
  4. Take the Exam

Certification Eligibility Pathways

Pathway 1: Candidate Program

Do you not yet meet all the exam eligibility requirements? No problem! Be a part of the Candidate Program. You must hold an architectural license. No Portfolio or Exam Application required. You will receive periodic updates on the College, exam reminders, and special invitations to ACHA-only events.  Remain a Candidate for up to 5 years for $25/year (only $20 in 2020). 

Pathway 2: Exam Application and Portfolio Submission

If you meet all the eligibility requirements outlined in the Certification Handbook, you do not need to become a Candidate prior to submitting the portfolio materials and applying for the exam. You will have up to 5 years to pass the exam and submit your portfolio package.

​Exam Fees and Submission Deadline:

  • Exam Application - $400
  • Deadline: April 1

An architect who does not pass the examination on his or her first attempt may elect to retake the exam during the next testing window for a maximum of five years before resubmitting an Exam Application and Portfolio Package is required.  


  • Re-examination Application - $100
  • Deadline: June 1

If you did not pass the exam on a previous attempt and wish to sit for the exam in the upcoming exam period, please email us.